The Seven Deadly Chakra Demons

Keeping the chakras healthy and free of negative energy is beneficial to maintaining our mental, emotional, physical and spiritual health. But each or these chakras has its own demon—not literal demons, but figurative ones.

A chakra's 'demon' is the particular negative characteristic that can damage it or impede the flow of energy through that chakra. When you experience any of these demons, it’s a good time to get your chakras cleansed and balanced.

Root Chakra

This chakra is located in the body aligned with the very base of the spine. It's associated with the physical body's most basic survival needs and instincts. The demon of this chakra is fear. Threats trigger what's known as the 'flight or fight' response and we go into survival mode. Responses to fear were programmed by nature to help us against dangers, but lingering or repeatedly returning to that state can result in excess stress, tension and anxiety.

A chakra's 'demon' is the particular negative characteristic that can damage it or impede the flow of energy through that chakra.

Sacral Chakra

At the sacral plexus of the lower abdomen you’ll find this chakra that rules over our base emotions dealing with desires for pleasure and gratification. The demon that affects this chakra is guilt. Guilt is meant to teach us moderation, but excess guilt makes balance impossible. It creates a schism and leads to one extreme (we learn to dismiss it and over-indulge) or the other (we give into it and become self-oppressive). Either extreme makes it difficult to enjoy the pleasures in life

Navel Chakra

Aptly named for its location behind the navel, this chakra rules over the will, particularly when it comes to actions. It’s demon is shame, which inhibits action. Again, like all the ‘emotional demons’ shame has a purpose in that it helps us create and recognize boundaries for our actions. But again, in excess, creates imbalance— it impedes actions, causes us to second-guess ourselves or abstain even when taking action would be the best thing to do.

Heart Chakra

Our heart chakra regulates over socialization and its health is essentional to foster relationships with others. It regulates both our capacity for love, and our acceptance of the love of others. The demon for this chakra is sorrow. While sorrow is a necessary vehicle to express emotional pain and grief, too much can weigh upon this chakra so heavily that it can close it down, which serves only to disconnect us from others around us. It impairs affection, intimacy and compassion.

Throat Chakra

The chakra at the throat primarily rules over communications; our ability to be heard, as well as to hear. It is how we express ourselves. Its demon is dishonesty. This includes outright lies, lies by omission, or even living in denial. Dishonesty creates a murky blockage that gets in the way not only of expressing ourselves and making ourselves clear, but in understanding others.

Third Eye Chakra

This chakra is on the brow, slightly between and above the eyebrows. It regulates our 'vision'. Not just eyesight, but our ability to be visionary: our insights, intuitions and ability to think outside the box. Its demon is illusion. Distorted perceptions act like a funhouse mirror. They prevent us from seeing reality-- we're seeing only what we want to see, or perhaps we can't take focus off the things we don't want to see and obsess over them. Either way, illusions imprison us in a false reality.

Crown Chakra

At the very top of the head is the crown chakra, which regulates the spiritual connections—connections to a Higher Power, to the Higher Self or universal energies. It is this chakra is where we experience the divine, where we draw wisdom and learn to transcend. The demon here is attachment. Attachments act like anchors that weigh us down and prevent us from moving forward. Only by letting go of our petty problems and insignificant worries can we evolve and move on.